64 Comments

Enjoyed your column about Grant very much, whom I knew about due to our mutual admiration for Lucy Stone. Did I miss the connection to Frances Perkins?

Expand full comment

Is the item potentially in my home something i would purchase just once or something that I would regularly replenish/ use up/ consume?

Expand full comment

Hedy Lamar?

Expand full comment

Is the item potentially in my home NOT a book?

Expand full comment

Is it Jane Grant, co-founder of the New Yorker?

Expand full comment

Is it a woman?

Expand full comment

I have a guess. Did this person often publish under a pseudonym with the initials BC?

Expand full comment

I am new to this game so is this the right kind of question, but in what part of the home would this contribution be found?

Expand full comment

Julia Child?

Expand full comment

I think you are referring to Mary Harriman Rumsey, the founder of the Junior League, whose members have published many cookbooks.

Expand full comment

Is the significant contribution mechanical? ( Ps this is fun...if it was more real time I would ask question after question that I would want you to answer yes)

Expand full comment

Is the mystery person an author?

Expand full comment

are they bigger than a breadbox?

Expand full comment

How many guesses do we get? LoL

Expand full comment

Did this person often use a pseudonym?

Expand full comment

Zerna Sharp?

Expand full comment

Agnes White Tizard?

Expand full comment

Clare Booth Luce?

Expand full comment

Lillian Gilbreth?

Expand full comment

Did this person give advice?

Expand full comment

Margaret Knight?

Expand full comment

I went down a women’s history rabbit hole. My guesses are Gertrude Tendrich or Leona Chalmers. Not sure if my “theme” is on track, but this led me to some interesting reading all the same.

Expand full comment

Beulah Henry?

Expand full comment

In a h/t to your pandemic binge, Is the contribution I may have in my house bigger than a bread box?

Expand full comment

Fannie Farmer?

Expand full comment